Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Tom MacArthur

Representing the 3rd District of New Jersey

MacArthur Leads Local Officials in Asking FEMA to Extend Deadline

September 8, 2015
Press Release

Washington, DC - Congressman Tom MacArthur was today joined by 106 local Ocean County elected officials in a letter to Federal Emergency Management Agency Administrator (FEMA) Craig Fugate, calling on him to extend the deadline for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) policyholders to request a review of their claims filed in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy. As Congressman MacArthur traveled throughout Ocean County during the August work period, he encountered many residents expressing concerns with the September 15 deadline to enter the review process.

MacArthur explained, “Residents working to recover from Superstorm Sandy have expressed concerns about the fast-approaching September 15th deadline to enter the claims review process. While many residents have expressed concerns, it has become apparent that there is a groundswell of support in Ocean County to give folks more time to consider the options in front of them. I am proud to join with 106 elected officials from Ocean County in calling on FEMA to extend the September 15 deadline. It is time for FEMA to listen to the residents and local elected officials most affected by this deadline, and use a little common sense to extend this deadline.”

“I applaud Congressman MacArthur for bringing so many State, County, and local elected officials together to call on FEMA to extend the September 15 deadline for the claims review process,” said Freeholder Director John Bartlett. “I am hopeful that FEMA will listen to our call to grant this extension.”

“I, along with my 9th District legislative colleagues Assemblyman Brian Rumpf and Assemblywoman DiAnne Gove, have seen firsthand the devastation that so many residents continue to endure as they work to rebuild their lives after Superstorm Sandy,” said Senator Christopher Connors. “This arbitrary deadline makes no sense and I am proud to stand with Congressman MacArthur in calling for an extension.”

Berkeley Township Mayor Carmen Amato added, “Many area residents continue to struggle with this arbitrary deadline set by FEMA and it’s about time for FEMA to use a little common sense to extend the rapidly-approaching deadline. I want to thank Congressman MacArthur for working with the folks he represents to bring attention to this important issue.”

*It should be noted that no elected officials turned down the opportunity to sign this letter and any omission is because staff was unable to reach them for their direct approval.

Below is the full text of the letter:

September 8, 2015

The Honorable Craig Fugate
Federal Emergency Management Agency
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
500 C Street SW, Washington, DC 20472

Dear Administrator Fugate,

As elected officials focused on the well-being of our constituents, we join together to call on the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to extend the deadline for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) policyholders to request a review of their claims filed in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy.

We have lived the devastation caused by Superstorm Sandy and the many challenges involved in rebuilding and recovery.  Thousands of residents have not yet returned to their homes, many businesses are still closed, and many survivors continue to undergo serious personal and financial struggles.  We are united in our request that you extend this deadline.

Your decision to reopen the claims review process was responsible, given the circumstances clouding many insurance claims. However, significant confusion and frustration remains.  It is clear that more time is needed to ensure that Superstorm Sandy survivors are fully informed about the rules governing this process. 

FEMA’s mission states that the agency exists to support citizens and ensure that we, as a nation, can adequately recover from any disaster.  In the case of Superstorm Sandy and the communities we represent, an extended claims review deadline is vital if Sandy survivors are to adequately recover from what has been the biggest natural disaster to ever hit our region.  We join together to urge you to extend the claims review process deadline.


Congressman Tom MacArthur
Member of Congress    

New Jersey Elected Officials Joining:

Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders
Freeholder Director John Bartlett
Deputy Freeholder Director Gerry Little
Freeholder Joseph Vicari
Freeholder John Kelly
Freeholder James Lacey

9th Legislative District
Senator Christopher Connors
Assemblywoman DiAnne Gove
Assemblyman Brian Rumpf 

10th Legislative District
Senator James Holzapfel
Assemblyman David Wolfe
Assemblyman Gregory McGuckin

30th Legislative District
Senator Robert Singer
Assemblyman Sean Kean 
Assemblyman David Rible 

Barnegat Township
Mayor Susan McCabe
Deputy Mayor Martin Lisella
Committeeman Albert Bille
Committeewoman Elaine Taylor

Borough of Beachwood 
Mayor Ronald Roma
Council President Beverly Clayton
Councilman Steven Komsa
Councilman Bill Cairns
Councilman Gerald LaCrosse
Councilman Gregory Feeney
Councilman Edward Zakar

Berkeley Township 
Mayor Carmen Amato
Council President Judy Noonan
Councilwoman Sophia Gingrich
Councilman Jim Byrnes
Councilman Tom Grosse
Councilman Angelo Guadagno
Councilman Tony DePaola
Councilman John Bacchione

Township of Brick 
Mayor John Ducey

Borough of Island Heights 
Mayor Jeffrey Silver
Council President Sean Asay
Councilman Steven Berglund
Councilman Kieran Pillion

Lacey Township
Mayor Gary Quinn
Deputy Mayor Steve Kennis
Committeeman Peter Curatolo
Committeeman Nicholas Juliano
Committeeman Mark Dykoff

Borough of Lavallette 
Mayor Walter LaCicero
Council President Anita Zalom
Councilman James Borowski
Councilwoman Joanne Filippone
Councilman David Finter
Councilman Robert Lamb
Councilman Michael Stogdill

Borough of Mantoloking 
Mayor George Nebel
Councilman Steve Gillingham
Councilman Robert McIntyre
Councilman Chris Nelson

Borough of Ocean Gate 
Mayor Paul Kennedy
Council President Brian DiStefano
Councilman Mark Haug
Councilman David Kendrik
Councilman Alex Martinez
Councilwoman Joella Nicastro
Councilman John Serpica

Pine Beach Borough 
Mayor Lawrence Cuneo
Council President Barry Wieck
Councilman Matthew Abatemarco
Councilman Robert Budesa
Councilman Richard Polhemus
Councilwoman Susan Coletti
Councilman Raymond Newman

Borough of Point Pleasant 
Mayor Robert Sabosik
Council President Antoinette DePaola
Councilman Joseph Furmato
Councilman William Borowski
Councilwoman Pamela Snyder

Borough of Seaside Heights 
Mayor Anthony Vaz
Council President Harry Smith
Councilman Richard Tompkins
Councilman Michael Carbone
Councilwoman Agnes Polhemus

Borough of Seaside Park 
Mayor Robert Matthies
Council President Michael Tierney
Councilman Frank McHugh
Councilwoman Faith Liguori
Councilwoman Gail Coleman
Councilwoman Nancy Koury
Councilwoman Jean Contessa

Borough of South Toms River 
Mayor Oscar Cradle
Councilman Sandford Ross
Councilman William Gleason
Councilwoman Tanya Mosley

Stafford Township
Mayor John Spodofora
Council President Robert Kusznikow
Councilman Henry Mancini
Councilwoman Sharon McKenna
Councilwoman Lori Wyrsch
Councilman Stephen Fessler
Councilman Paul Krier

Township of Toms River 
Mayor Tom Kelaher
Council President Jeffrey Carr
Councilman George Wittmann
Councilman John Sevastakis
Councilman Alfonso Manforti
Councilman Maurice Hill
Councilman Brian Kubiel
Councilwoman Maria Maruca

Township of Ocean 
Mayor Christina Wetter
Committeeman Dennis Tredy